Department Name : Department of Mathematics





Mathematics was one of the three Departments in the Faculty of Science with which the University opened its door to the students on July 1, 1921. It started functioning offering BSc (Honours) and M.Sc. degrees in Pure and Applied Mathematics. Presently it is housed in the Science Annex just opposite the historic Shaheed Minar.


The Department at present offers an integrated B.S. (Honours) Programme of four-year duration, followed by a M.S. Programme of one-year duration. The research degrees of M.Phil and Ph.D. are also offered by the Department.


Research work during the first three decades was carried out mainly in the areas of Mechanics, Fluid Mechanics, Special Functions, Differential Equations and Theory of Numbers and Mathematical Physics. In the next phase, beginning with the fifties, Analysis, Geometry and Dynamical Meteorology featured prominently. Since the early eighties research activity has greatly increased in the Department. Areas of current research include: Group Theory, Ring Theory, Number Theory, Topology, Functional Analysis, Differential Equations, Complex Analysis, Relativity and Cosmology, Numerical Analysis, Generalized Functions, Summability Theory, Operations Research, Mathematical Physics, Fluid Mechanics, Mathematical Hydrology, Magnatohydrodynamics, Mathematical Biology, Differential Geometry, Dynamical Systems, Fuzzy Mathematics.


Bangladesh Mathematical Society located in the Department regularly publishes an annual volume of an educative magazine Ganit Parikrama in Bangla and an annual volume of an international journal GANIT, Journal of Bangladesh Mathematical Society in English.