Department Name : Department of Urdu

The Department of Urdu and Persian was established on 1 July 1921. Between 1921 and 1947 the Department offered courses in Persian in B.A. Honours and M.A. with Urdu as a subsidiary subject. From 1947 Urdu was offered for B.A. Honours and from 1947 it was offered for M.A. It became a separate department from 10 March 2007.

A four-year B.A. Honours and a one-year M.A.Programme are offered. Also a two-year M.Phil and three-year Ph.D Programme are offered by the Department.

A minimum qualification is required for admission to M. Phil and Ph.D. programmes and the students must defend their theses successfully to obtain their degrees. Linguistic, Culture and Literary Studies of the sub-continent are major fields of research.

The Department offers departmental scholarships every year for meritorious students. Prescribed and recommended books are available in the seminar library. The Department publishes annually The Dhaka University Journal of Persian and Urdu.

click for department details