Image Not Found

Dr. Firoj Ahmed

Faculty of Pharmacy

Dean of the Faculty

Faculty of Pharmacy

The 3-years Bachelor of Pharmacy (Hons.) course was introduced in 1964 and a 1-year Master of Pharmacy course started in 1968. The Faculty of Pharmacy started functioning since 1995 and the 4-year Bachelor of Pharmacy (Hons.) course was started in 1996. According to a decision of the syndicate in 2003, the Department of Pharmacy under the Faculty of Pharmacy was abolished and the 4-year Bachelor of Pharmacy (Hons.) course was taken under the control of the Dean of the Faculty. There are three departments namely Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Department of Clinical Pharmacy & Pharmacology and Department of Pharmaceutical Technology, which are offering postgraduate courses. From 2010-2011session Faculty of Pharmacy started five year Bachelor of Pharmacy professional program. According to syndicate decision (25.5.2014) Department of Pharmacy again started it’s activity.

The faculty has been regularly publishing the peer reviewed biannual scientific journal entitled "The Dhaka University Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences" from 2002. The Faculty of Pharmacy has introduced many awards (such as Dean's award), scholarships (such as Badrunnessa Gafur Memorial Trust scholarship) and Gold medals (such as Kothashilpee Sardar Joinuddin Memorial Gold Medal) for the meritorious students of the Faculty.

Professor Dr. Firoj Ahmed has been serving as the Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy since 25 January, 2024.