Faculty Name: Faculty of Biological Sciences
Head of Office:  Dr. Md. Imdadul Hoque
Designation:  Dean (Acting)

The faculty of Biological Sciences was established in 1974. At its inception, the faculty consisted of the Departments of Soil Science (Presently Soil, Water and Environment), Botany, Zoology, Biochemistry (presently Biochemistry and Molecular Biology), Psychology and Pharmacy. Later on Four other new departments namely, Department of Microbiology (1979), Department of Clinical Psychology (1997), Department of Aquaculture and Fisheries (1997) (presently Department of Fisheries) and Department of Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (2000) have become members of the faculty. In the meantime Pharmacy has also become a separate Faculty. The Departments of the faculty offer a four year Bachelor of Science, B.S. (Honours); a one year Master of Science (M.S.) and also M.Phil and Ph.D.Programmes.

Since its inception, the Departments belonging to this faculty have been conducting research on various fields of national interest, which have already earned recognition and fame both nationally and internationally. In their research endeavour, the Departments have established MOU with national and overseas universities and research institutions. There are two higher research centers at this Faculty, namely, Biotechnology Research Centre and the Centre for Advanced Research in Biological Sciences. Research grants are available in these Centres for the teachers of the Faculty to support small-scale research.

The Faculty regularly publishes a journal - The Dhaka University Journal of Biological Sciences. Dr. Md. Imdadul Hoque has been working as the elected Dean of the Faculty.